• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Adding Treb and Bass adjustment?!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm afraid I'm a newbie when it comes to tube ckt design so I'll defer to the experts. Would there be an easy way to add treble and bass controls to this design? It's the one thing keeping me from plowing head-on into soldering bliss :D

Active? Passive? Your thoughts are appreciated! TIA! -Cory

Attachments

• supercompact.jpg
    supercompact.jpg
    53.7 KB · Views: 532
Yes there is an easy way to add bass/treble controls, and simplest is to use a passive bass/treble.
I have attached a picture of a bass/treble control, this schematic is taken from a Marshall JCM 800 2210 preamp.
You simply add this control between your first stage and the next.

Attachments

• bass-treble.gif
    bass-treble.gif
    23.9 KB · Views: 516
Passive is fine but put it in the right place

The original circuit in this thread shows a power amplifier. It is not customary to install any type of tone control within a power amplifier. The overall feedback within this amplifier would get badly out of whack by the addition of a tone control within the feedback loop.

A passive or active bass and treble control can be added at the very input of the amplifier. Care should be taken that the tone control circuit is driven from a low impedance source. Thus some kind of follower to drive it may be required. Personally I prefer the Baxandall tone control circuit, which is a one stage active type and is usually driven from a cathode follower.

John Fassotte
Alaskan Audio