• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Is this OK for the Etude Preamp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK, I am new to Tube DIY. I have looked at and re-drawn the schematic from DIYParadise Etude. Am I doing anything stupid with this schematic?

A search for the Etude, has revealed a number of posts, but things still seem rather complicated (at least for me).

I modelled the PSU in PSUDII with a resistive load of 12K and got 293V at B+

The transformer will be the Hammond 274BX with 375-0-375 at 172mA

The chokes will be 30H 595 ohm.

I am trying to understand the circuit, epsecially where the 12K resistor fits-in ie. what does it do?

Anyway, do the voltages look OK, and if not, how can I calculate them, what about current, etc?

Maybe, I should simply be asking - Is there a good reference book for a newbie?????

Charlie

Attachments

• myamp.gif
    myamp.gif
    6.3 KB · Views: 934
Hi Charlie

This is a grounded cathode amplifier. I could try to explain how it works, but you may be better of reading it from John Broskie http://www.tubecad.com/articles_2003/Grounded_Cathode_Amplifier/index.html

The 12k is the load for the tube, not the same as the load on the PSU. In PSUD you can change the load into a constant current. I would do that, and plug in the current drawn through the 12B4 (two times the current if you are building a stereo amp using a common power supply).

Hmm...besides the excellent articles by John Broskie I recommend you to buy Morgan Jones Valve Amplifiers, 3rd edition, available at Amazon. It is a very well written book, packed with schematics, theory, ideas, concepts, etc.

Commercial disclaimer: (Unfortunately) I am not related to him

Erik