• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

junkbox amp help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thanks to mwiebe I've determined I have a Tektronix PT that should be useable in my next amp.

Secondaries are:

520VCT/250ma
430VCT/150ma
6.3VAC 12.5A
6.3VAC 12.5A
5VAC, 4A
5VAC, 2A

What's I'd like to do is something like Triodedicks MonoBill amp in a stereo form, but the PT is not even similar to the specified.

I have a pair ST70 OPT that I'll use.

I've messed around with PSUDII a little using tv 6au4GTB damper diodes (and a few others), and the st 70 choke, trying to get in Dick's B+ ranges, but frankly I'm a noob so I have no idea if I'm on the right track. So far I'm always coming up with warnings of IFRM. Considering all of the 6.3V excess, I've set up a bridge rect using 6AU4's to CLCRC in an attempt to get the voltages to drop enough but I always get IFRM warning. Of course I'm not sure if I calculated the load correctly either. I came up with approx load of 11K(???)

Anyone with some pointers? I'd like to get this going without investing in new iron or chokes.

TIA

Well I believe the current should be 4x KT88 or eL34 @ 50mA each, plus two ECC99 at 15mA to 20mA each. I'm thinking of only running the power tubes off of the 520V/250mA winding and operating the ECC99's with the 454V/150mA winding. So for the power tube PS I have entered a 200mA current sink....sound OK?

Power tubes alone:
With a CLCRC I've come up with: 6AU4 Bridge-1uF-1.5H-500uF-20R-200uF, the 400V RMS is too low (assuming this is the B+)