• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

El34 PP Vs. El34 PSE

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I am so hungry to build another power amp. I am trying to decied between an El34 PP triode design, or just a PSET design.

I am having trouble finding PSET designs for just 2 El34s Per Channel.

Will El34s running in PP in triode mode even go beyond Class A?

Would someone please direct me toward a good PSE design that uses 2 tubes per channel? I am dying to try this out.

Or as I am still a newbie, should I build a PP amp first before I try PSE?

I am lost! please help me!

-Moose

Triode, UL, or pentode, how you bias the tube determines the class of operation. Only Class "A" is suitable for HIFI when SE topology is employed. You have options when PP "finals" are used. IMO, "shallow" Class "A" operation has a lot going for it. You squeeze out a little more when peak power O/P is needed, while avoiding cross over problems most of the time.

2 tube PSE, I will tell you what I do. If the power supply in your existing amp is capable of supplying twice the current, you can do this. Wire a second (same brand) EL34 directly in parallel with the existing tube. The best way to do this is to use seperate stopper resistors for each tube. The cathode resistor now needs to be half its original value. The output transformer must now be half its impedance also. This will double the output power, so to take advantage of this power, you need a larger transformrer

Running two tubes in P-P allows the tubes to operate in class A, B, AB1, or AB2. A SE amp must always run in class A

alexmoose said: