El34 PP Vs. El34 PSE - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th August 2006, 02:09 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default El34 PP Vs. El34 PSE

Hello, I am so hungry to build another power amp. I am trying to decied between an El34 PP triode design, or just a PSET design.

I am having trouble finding PSET designs for just 2 El34s Per Channel.

Will El34s running in PP in triode mode even go beyond Class A?

Would someone please direct me toward a good PSE design that uses 2 tubes per channel? I am dying to try this out.

Or as I am still a newbie, should I build a PP amp first before I try PSE?

I am lost! please help me!

-Moose
Old 30th August 2006, 03:00 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Triode, UL, or pentode, how you bias the tube determines the class of operation. Only Class "A" is suitable for HIFI when SE topology is employed. You have options when PP "finals" are used. IMO, "shallow" Class "A" operation has a lot going for it. You squeeze out a little more when peak power O/P is needed, while avoiding cross over problems most of the time.
Old 30th August 2006, 03:06 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

2 tube PSE, I will tell you what I do. If the power supply in your existing amp is capable of supplying twice the current, you can do this. Wire a second (same brand) EL34 directly in parallel with the existing tube. The best way to do this is to use seperate stopper resistors for each tube. The cathode resistor now needs to be half its original value. The output transformer must now be half its impedance also. This will double the output power, so to take advantage of this power, you need a larger transformrer