Bass Guitar Tube Amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th December 2002, 01:32 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Bass Guitar Tube Amp

Hello and hello,
I sure am enjoying the conversation! I've got very little DIY experience, (tweaks to my ST70) and some Pass Labs stuff, but I would like to build a smallish tube amp for my son's bass. He want some good warm tone. I do have access to a machine shop for the physical construction, but would probably not attempt trannies. Are there any suggestions for a relative first timer? Should I copy a known commercial amp?
Thanks,
Charles BL
Old 10th December 2002, 02:44 AM   #2
Colt45 is offline Colt45  Serbia
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Colt45
how much power do you need?

once we get that done I can start rattling off some ideas

If you want <20w, we could probably put something decent together for cheap, especially if you can scrounge parts from the junk bin.

more power and we'd have to jump the cost some (mostly because of the larger output tranny required..)
Old 10th December 2002, 02:00 PM   #3
Joel is offline Joel  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Bass Guitar Tube Amp

Quote:
Originally posted by Charles BL
Should I copy a known commercial amp?
Yes. Except I don't think 'tubes' is the right forum, since all of the bass players I know seem to prefer solid state amps. Increased headroom, bass, etc.
I have heard that the Fender "Dual Showman" is a classic circuit. That's tubed.
Old 10th December 2002, 02:09 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Magnetmaz
I'm actually a jazz bass performance major....