• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Audio Amp Project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a newbie and wanted to learn about vacuum tubes.
So, I have bought a few common vacuum tubes (made in USSR) for cheap in Russia.

I have stumbled upon this schematic for an audio amplifier online; unfortunetely I could find no documentation for it.

1.What is the estimated current usage and what type of fuse should I use?

2.How should I power 150-160 VDC from 120VAC? Should I use several transformers to step up the power+isolate before being rectified to 0.7x the voltage?

3.How critical should the values of the components be and the stability of the input voltage?-will it still work if it receives 140 or 180 V?

Attachments

• 2.gif
    2.gif
    11 KB · Views: 560

I have stumbled upon this schematic for an audio amplifier online; unfortunately I could find no documentation for it.
If this is the only information you have, you might want to consider finding a different schematic. Important things like the impedance of the primary winding (I) of the output transformer are left out, and I have no way of finding out about the curves of your tube. If you can find a manual or datasheet for that tube, it would help.

What is the estimated current usage
This you must find from the datasheet of the tube.

and what type of fuse should I use?