First Post - Hum on 5687 Pre-amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th July 2006, 08:24 AM   #1
colinB is offline colinB  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default First Post - Hum on 5687 Pre-amp

This is my first post here and Iím looking for some help with two problems with a valve pre-amplifier I recently put to-gether. The two problems are hum and too much gainÖ

Firstly, a bit of background Ė Iím a complete newbie to valve amplifiers and Iím doing my best to increase my knowledge by reading Morgan Jones book (Valve amplifiers) and looking at various websites. Over the last couple of months I decided to go ahead and build a pre-amplifier which was fairly quickly followed by a power amplifier.

So, the pre-amp was based on a 5687 valve as per the schematic on www.diy paradise.com which appeared to be relatively Ďsimpleí to build for a newbie. It took me some time to complete but Iím new to this so no big deal! Well after testing to find all voltages were approx. correct everything looked great. However, at this stage I had no power amp so I couldnít really test the preamp playing music.

So I decided to build a power amp. This time with some help with a schematic I built a EL34 SE power amp (using ECC83 drivers). Again, everything went ok Ė no problems with voltages on power amp, etc. Excitedly I coupled the pre-amp and power amp together but it was immediately obvious I had problems Ė loud hum.
Played some music anyway but then second problem surfaced Ė too much gain (volume was too loud before 9í o clock on dial.)