Microphone In Guitar amp Question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a really nice little 5E3 clone thats a gas to play thru, But, I am in need of a nice harp amp. These were pretty legendary with a lot of old blues players.

The Problem is, no matter how large the room is, If I raise the volume over 1/10th I get terrible feedback. Even at over 15ft away.

Is there a simple mod to corect this type of thing?
5E3 schematic

I have no experience with this type of setup, But it seems to me it shouldnt be to hard to correct if I knew where to look.
Trout

found this quote:

Tube swapping modifications easily done on the Bassman RI further optimize it for use in amplified harp play--specifically the solid state rectifier is often replaced with a tube rectifier, and the stock 12AX7 tubes are replaced with lower-gain substitutes such as the 12AT7 or even the low gain 12AU7. These tube substitutions allow the amp's volume knob to be turned to higher settings before feedback occurs, which provides more "headroom" for volume adjustments that don't result in feedback. They also contribute to an earlier (less volume) breakup into the sought after tube overdrive distortion.

over here...
(You're not using a bassman, but hey..)

You could try that one quite easily, not?

Cheers, Paul

Hello Trout!

I've read somewhere an article about guitar -> harp conversion in tube amps, but I don't remember, maybe I'll post it later if I find it.

However, I would try adding some negative feedback, in general that always helps against acoustic feedback.

Also, try to limit frequency response of the amp: with the harp you don't need such low notes and high ones. So if with guitar you need about 50Hz - 10kHz, I would cut anything lower than 100Hz and anything higher than 5kHz.