• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

help! power supply voltage issue

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've just finished the tube power supply for Steve Bench's tube active crossover. The schematic for the supply can be found at

http://members.aol.com/sbench101/#Power

Anyway, this is my first project in over 25 years (first one was a Heathkit radio Dad helped me build when I was just 6), and I am pretty pleased I got this far-- tubes glow, values are *almost* right. So, I want to know two things at this point:

1. On the filament wires coming off the supply I've got 7.3v rather than 6.3. Does this matter? If so so, what should I check and possibly fix? (The schematic gives you a 6v DC and 6.3v AC option; I'm using the latter.)

2. One of the OA2's appears a little "off"-- it glows a pinkish and when I test the B+ wires, I get 146 rather than 150 (with the other I get a perfect 150). I can tell the 146 reading is due to the tube, because I swapped the tubes into the opposite supplies & my readings switched accordingly. Should I just buy another OA2? Do these tend to be finicky? (So, should I buy a few and hope one works?)

Thanks for any help you can give!

Hi,

I am no expert, but love tube audio. I believe that you use a resistor to drop the voltage to 6.3v a/c. E=I*R will give you the value you need(R=E/I) I believe in parallel and use a 5 watter or better.

Buy another tube. glow I believe equals leakege, outside air coming in.

Wait till one of the experts gives solid advice before doing anything to your filament wires.

Thanks