Amp kit recommendations - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th June 2006, 05:05 AM   #1
DaveCan is offline DaveCan  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Amp kit recommendations

Hello everyone, I was going to save up for a tube amp from a choice between two company's that I'm interested in, then someone told me I should try to build my own. I'm very new to tube amps but all of them I've heard so far ( total of four ) sounded very nice to me. I've never built anything electronic before or even soldered very much so my skill level is pre-school.
The system I want to put together would be: cd source into tube amplification out to single driver x-overless horns using fe108ez's. I looked at the Bottlehead site and was wondering if there are any kits like that for the beginner that you all would recommend that offer top notch sound quality? is the Bottlehead stuff the way to go or? Thanks Dave
Old 12th June 2006, 05:18 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

So, if you have horns based on the fe108ez, you don't need a lot of power.

What power you looking for... 2, 5, 10 watts?
Old 12th June 2006, 05:36 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Power wise I guess a few watts would be ok but if I could have abit more that would be good too. I don't listen really loud but it's always nice to know there's still some clean volume left if needed. I'm hoping that someone like me could be able to build a really nice sounding reliable amp between about $? and $600 that would hold its own to some of the better manufactured one's out there. Dave
Old 12th June 2006, 06:08 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Email sent
Old 12th June 2006, 06:32 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

Dave,