• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Amp kit recommendations

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone, I was going to save up for a tube amp from a choice between two company's that I'm interested in, then someone told me I should try to build my own. I'm very new to tube amps but all of them I've heard so far ( total of four ) sounded very nice to me. I've never built anything electronic before or even soldered very much so my skill level is pre-school.
The system I want to put together would be: cd source into tube amplification out to single driver x-overless horns using fe108ez's. I looked at the Bottlehead site and was wondering if there are any kits like that for the beginner that you all would recommend that offer top notch sound quality? is the Bottlehead stuff the way to go or? Thanks Dave :)

Power wise I guess a few watts would be ok but if I could have abit more that would be good too. I don't listen really loud but it's always nice to know there's still some clean volume left if needed. I'm hoping that someone like me could be able to build a really nice sounding reliable amp between about $? and $600 that would hold its own to some of the better manufactured one's out there. Dave:)