• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Substituting dual triodes

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm VERY new to working with amplifiers, tubes in particular, but I'm keen to try a simple SET design by Fred Nachbaur (http://www.dogstar.dantimax.dk/tubestuf/miniblok.htm). I think I understand the basics and will build it as he designed it. But I'm curious about substituting other dual triodes for the 13EM7/15EA7 he specs (his goal was to design a very cheap SET - $100 or less). Can you give a beginner some thoughts about what to consider when substituting tubes?

A beginner shouldn't substitute tubes!

But this could be a good platform for you to get past being a beginner. There are a lot of more-or-less similar dual triodes (and pentode triodes) that can work in this topology, but to get anywhere, you'll have to have the basic tools (generator, scope, power supplies) and crack the books to learn the arts of biasing and determining loadlines and operating points.

That said, and the usual high-voltage warnings, one similar tube I've used in simple circuits is the 6GF7. It seems to work very nicely.

I spent some time playing with a circuit similar to his. I tried many of the vertical output dual triodes. Almost any of them can be made to work, but you will need to play with all of the resistor values to get it to function. This requires some basic knowledge of how tubes work and how to read the plate curves. The 13EM7 is about as cheap as any of them and works as good as any of them. If you haven't tweaked up a tube amp before, it would be best to build the design as intended for your first attempt. At least you know that you are starting with a known good design.