Single-ended: Triodes or pentodes? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th November 2002, 02:05 AM   #1
SHiFTY is offline SHiFTY  New Zealand
diyAudio Member

Cool Single-ended: Triodes or pentodes?

I am looking at building a decent single ended amp on the cheap (I'm a poor student!) and was looking at the prices of triodes.

I have a PP amp which sounds fantastic, but, I guess you can never have too many amps

The thing is, I have access to a large quantity of cheap 807s (like a 6L6) and possibly some unused Mullard EL37s, some other kind of output pentode. It would be cool to use these instead of buying a whole lot of expensive tubes.

For transformers, I am looking at the Hammond 125ESE, and I have a big old power tranny 425-0-425 @ 200mA.

Now my questions: Is there some benefit that only triodes have? Will I still get the "SE sound" despite using a pentode/beam tube, and a little feedback? Could I get that sound with triode strapped pentodes?

Also If I use the primary centre tap of the output transformer as a 50% UL tap, will this sacrifice much in the way of power?

cool.

Old 24th November 2002, 08:37 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Single-ended: Triodes or pentodes?

Quote:
Originally posted by ShiFtY
I have a PP amp which sounds fantastic, but, I guess you can never have too many amps
So why do you want an SE?
Quote:
The thing is, I have access to a large quantity of cheap 807s (like a 6L6) and possibly some unused Mullard EL37s, some other kind of output pentode. It would be cool to use these instead of buying a whole lot of expensive tubes.