• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

EL84 PP Diy. Pls help me!!!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'd like to biuld an PP amp using EL84/6bq5 tube with 12ax7 driver. I'm a beginner, still not choose any schematic for my project. Can any one help me from beginning to build this amp? Please guide me from point to point, schematic->PSU->OPT, auto bias or fix, UL or no UL ...in short everything the best for EL84 PP. Now I have 2x12ax7, 8xel84, 1x 5u4gb, 2 5z3p. PSU: propose DIY, OPT: DIY. Thanks a lot mfs!!!
this is my proposal chassis

Attachments

• ampli1.jpg
    ampli1.jpg
    31.4 KB · Views: 1,219
Hi BigOx!

I think you can't go wrong with EL84 and ECC83/12AX7, at least experienced people from this forum are working with those tubes and topology - and lots of innovative ideas. Gingertube has recently published a complete schematic for a PP with EL84 and ECC83 (he uses E803CC, a similar tube).
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=72536&highlight=

SY, another great and active member, is preparing a paper in which he describes an EL84 amp - well, that is what I think :)

I am making a kind of 'universal' breadboard where I will be able to test and compare the different circuits posted here. When I am finished I will post some pictures!

Erik

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
ErikdeBest said:
SY, another great and active member, is preparing a paper in which he describes an EL84 amp - well, that is what I think :)

I have a bag of red LEDs i'm laying up for one of SY's "red light district" PP EL84.

Another one to check out is Eli Dutton's El Cheapo... all different tubes but a lot of general info applicable.

dave

planet10 said: