EL84 PP Diy. Pls help me!!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th May 2006, 06:22 AM   #1
BigOx is offline BigOx  Viet Nam
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to BigOx
Default EL84 PP Diy. Pls help me!!!

I'd like to biuld an PP amp using EL84/6bq5 tube with 12ax7 driver. I'm a beginner, still not choose any schematic for my project. Can any one help me from beginning to build this amp? Please guide me from point to point, schematic->PSU->OPT, auto bias or fix, UL or no UL ...in short everything the best for EL84 PP. Now I have 2x12ax7, 8xel84, 1x 5u4gb, 2 5z3p. PSU: propose DIY, OPT: DIY. Thanks a lot mfs!!!
this is my proposal chassis
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ampli1.jpg (31.4 KB, 1116 views)
Old 10th May 2006, 07:04 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi BigOx!

I think you can't go wrong with EL84 and ECC83/12AX7, at least experienced people from this forum are working with those tubes and topology - and lots of innovative ideas. Gingertube has recently published a complete schematic for a PP with EL84 and ECC83 (he uses E803CC, a similar tube).
EL84 Amp - Baby Huey

SY, another great and active member, is preparing a paper in which he describes an EL84 amp - well, that is what I think

I am making a kind of 'universal' breadboard where I will be able to test and compare the different circuits posted here. When I am finished I will post some pictures!

Erik
Old 10th May 2006, 08:27 AM   #3
BigOx is offline BigOx  Viet Nam
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to BigOx
Unhappy Oh thanks

Oh! that's great to hear infos from you, thanks alot, i'll check it out.
Old 11th May 2006, 05:08 AM   #4
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus