raccomandation with valve amps - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th May 2006, 09:24 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default raccomandation with valve amps

Hi, I'm a rookie of valve, so I start reading "getting the most out of tube by Robert B.Tomer" wich I found on the sticky post, very usufull.
Since I don't understand english at 100% I would like ask somethings wich I didn't understood completly.

To make lasting more time the valves,
I mustn't turn on/off like crazy the amp,
always warm up the amp with volume to zero( for what time? few mins or 10/15 or more?),
when I turn off the amp if I have to move it I must wait until is cold,
other to know?

I have a AMC CVT2030 (hybrid amp 4 EL34 valves) and a Vincent SA-31 preamp( hybrid with 2 valve I don't found the name).

Vibration are not good for valve, right? because if it's the same with light lamp... When I rotate the knob of the preamp to select sources I feel a vibration on its chassis. should I care or not?
IT could be because I put on the preamp over the cd and radio, so it's more shaking?
Click the image to open in full size.

Other thing I have a doubt.. Is it good have the amp near the speaker( fostexFE206) like in the pic?
Click the image to open in full size.

thank you for the attention and bye
Old 6th May 2006, 10:00 PM   #2
Merlinb is offline Merlinb  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member