• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Will this work?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
http://www.tubes.mynetcologne.de/roehren/el34set/el34set_e.html

Hey, I need some advice on this schematic. Found it here a couple months ago and getting ready to build it. I'm no engineer, just a solder slinger. The thing that intrigued me was the highish B+ and 10k OPT primary. I tried to do a load line but got totally confused:bawling: . I originally looked at el34 SET designs because I have everything to build one except the OPT's. I was thinking of having some wound for this that would be a little beefier than the se125's he used. I also have a drawing that I did for a power supply to substitute, it would be way more mA than required and I would have to bring the voltage down some, but once again it's stuff thats been laying around that I need to do something with. I'm planning on running this through some Heresy 2's with a CD straight in(Marantz 50 with variable output). I know there are some really good tube guys on this forum and if any of you could see your way clear to help out a fellow tube nut and maybe save me some headaches and heartaches on this one I would be very grateful.

Attachments

• my psu (medium).jpg
    my psu (medium).jpg
    24 KB · Views: 841
For a SE EL34 this power supply is a little overkill but will work just fine. The current drawn by the two EL34s would probably only require a single 5U4, and this would lower your B+ a bit too.

The caps would need the equalising resistors connected across them, i.e. joined to the junction in the middle. Also you could easily get away with just the one pair of 47uF in series for the first cap.