Dynaco from scratch - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th April 2006, 03:41 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Dynaco from scratch

Hi,
I'm new here, but i'm very interested in what I'm reading. Let me state that I'm very new to amp builing but do have some basic soldering skills, and a very general understanding of componets, and there functions. I'm pretty green , but I'm a fast learner, and love technical reading. I have just received a pas 3 preamp that I will start a restoration on. Soon after I would like to scratch build my own Poweramp. I'm looking for a basic /classic EL34 PP amp layout with an output of perhaps 35 watts /ch. It occured to be that The Dynaco ST-70 clone may be my best option. The reasons are many. Number one would, be the fact that an actually contruction manual would be very helpful, as I've never built from a schematic, or from anything else for that matter! Number 2 is the abundance of parts available. The prebuild driver boards are very appealing. I know many would recommend rebuilding a old unit, but these thing are now up to $500 with pits of rust and all!

My plan would be to build the amp on a new wood base / metal top plate chassis such as the 17 x 11 x 2.5 model from Wellborne labs. I want a new layout with Tranies lined up across the back. A row of EL34 across the middle, and the drivers up front with the driverboard hidden under the plate. I have not been able to work out how this would be possible.