• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Dynaco from scratch

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I'm new here, but i'm very interested in what I'm reading. Let me state that I'm very new to amp builing but do have some basic soldering skills, and a very general understanding of componets, and there functions. I'm pretty green , but I'm a fast learner, and love technical reading. I have just received a pas 3 preamp that I will start a restoration on. Soon after I would like to scratch build my own Poweramp. I'm looking for a basic /classic EL34 PP amp layout with an output of perhaps 35 watts /ch. It occured to be that The Dynaco ST-70 clone may be my best option. The reasons are many. Number one would, be the fact that an actually contruction manual would be very helpful, as I've never built from a schematic, or from anything else for that matter! Number 2 is the abundance of parts available. The prebuild driver boards are very appealing. I know many would recommend rebuilding a old unit, but these thing are now up to $500 with pits of rust and all!

My plan would be to build the amp on a new wood base / metal top plate chassis such as the 17 x 11 x 2.5 model from Wellborne labs. I want a new layout with Tranies lined up across the back. A row of EL34 across the middle, and the drivers up front with the driverboard hidden under the plate. I have not been able to work out how this would be possible.