EL84 Amp - Baby Huey - Page 137 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th May 2013, 09:01 AM   #1361
diyAudio Member

Hi Gingertube,

Thanks for the explanation. Just a couple more questions (i'm still learning).
1) Why use a 56R in the 6V6 shared cathodes? Shouldn't the grid bias provide the means to adjust output tube current?
2) What is the role of the 47k in the ccs for the FET?

Cheers ANdrew
Old 14th May 2013, 12:45 AM   #1362
diyAudio Member

The 56R in the 6V6 cathodes is not there to provide any part of the bias although it will contribute to the bias for the 2 tubes. It is there to provide some common mode feedback to the output tubes which helps reduce 3rd harmonic and other odd order harmonic distortion and also reduce intermodulation distortion. This was discussed earlier, see post #451 and onward. In particular note Sheldon's spectrum analyser plots.

The 47K is an essential part of the "ring of two" current source (CCS). It provides the base current for the current "pass" transistor and the collector current path for the "control" transistor.

Cheers,
Ian

Last edited by gingertube; 14th May 2013 at 01:00 AM.
Old 14th May 2013, 08:19 AM   #1363
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingertube View Post
... It is there to provide some common mode feedback to the output tubes which helps reduce 3rd harmonic and other odd order harmonic distortion and also reduce intermodulation distortion.
This is the method I used to reduce intermodulation with power supply ripple:
Replace the feedback resistor with two equal resistors in series so that the total resistance stays the same.