• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New KT77 Tubes by JJ

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently got my first Tube Amp (Jolida 302B), which I'm extremely happy with; but I was looking to replace the stock chinese tubes. Then I came across different threads and learned that the EL34's are equivalent to the 6CA7 and KT77. Then I noticed that JJ tubes is reintroducing the KT77. I'm not an electrical engineer by any means, but I was wondering if this tube is better in design then the current EL34's? :confused:

Below is a link to the specifications:

http://www.eurotubes.com/KT77-Spec.jpg

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I would go straight to the JJ site as I did and compare, the differences are subtle but there. I wouldn't make that substitution although arguably there are some (many) who would.

Actually the curves shown did not look all that great for either tube..

Perhaps I have screw loose.. (Used to 300B):D

Kevin

Although slightly more powerful than the EL34 cat, however, these days I cannot see the point of reintroducing this tube unless physical contraints and heater current which avoid the use of a KT88 which is far more readily available and would last much longer in the same circuit. Substituting a 77 to an 88 in UL circuit can nearly tweak a circuit to run in close class A. There are alot of benefits doing this, i.e lower thd and a bit more o/p power..