• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

What's it all about?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ex-Moderator
Joined 2003
I recently saw a post where it was pointed out that ATE (Automated Test Equipment) could require a tolerance of 10ppm and that audio doesn't even come close. Now, as an engineer, I'd regard 10ppm error as being seriously good engineering, so why don't the techniques and standards from other disciplines translate into "perfect sound for ever"? Why do we prefer to use a technology deemed obsolete decades ago?

Much has been made of the distortion/harmonic argument. It has been argued that solid state achieves low measured distortion at the expense of subjectively unpleasant distortion. Conversely, SE amplifiers are notorious for their high measured THD at full power.

It's difficult to make a high power SE valve amplifier, so most are <10W. You need efficient loudspeakers to go loud with 10W, so is it true (as the SS pundits would have us believe) that the SE enthusiasts are listening to distortion?

Similarly, it's difficult to make a PP valve amplifier with a "nice" distortion spectrum. Are we all lovers of grunge?

I have nothing to add technically, but I share your frustration. I am also an engineer and deal with metrics and design targets all day, but when a "sound of cables" thread breaks out I invariably find myself on the "yes something is going on" side because the "bullspit" side arguments are so weak. Argh!