• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Aikido tube choice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am no expert on the circuit.. though i have built a few versions. BUT, it depends on what you are trying to achieve: eg. how uch gain, how low an impedance, etc. The first tube pretty much dictates the gain, and dominates the tonality and response over the second section, so linearity is good there, and low internal noise and low microphonics. Ti will also dictate the gain for the most part, so for high gin, pick hi mu tubes like 12ax7, or a pentode.. it is a totem amp, so you'll get roughly 1/2 the mu of the input tube as the overall gain.

For the second stage, which is a balanced totem pole, use SRPP logic to figure that one out. the top element is the cathode follower, and the bottom is the pseudo CCS, and the PSU noise input. Low noise and microphonics are important there too, but maybe not quite as critical as the input stage. This stage is the impedance buffer, so the tube will dictate the Zo of the total circuit. Also, the bottom triode sees half the PSU noise, so the gain has to be such t hat it amplifies that properly to get the desired noise-nulling effect.

hope that helps, maybe someone else could expound a bit.

I've been watching some of the Aikido postings with interest too and was wondering what everyone's favorite tube-compliment choices were, that they felt gave them the best sound?

(I don't want to hijack anyone else's thread, but I've been wondering this similar question myself and it seems superfluous to start a speperate thread for something so close)

Hi,

dr._sleep wrote:
"I am currently running RCA clear top 6FQ7/6CG7 's as input tubes into