• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

RCA 7094 tetrodes...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I have found a pair of RCA 7094 NIB tetrodes in my loft (I bought them years ago as part of a large lot - didn't know they were in there).

I'm a novice in the tube amp stakes - currently just building my first (a nice version of the Bevois Valley amp from Morgan Jones - Sowter transformers arrived yesterday! may be ready for xmas... or maybe not)...

Anyway, do the 7094s have any audio use? Has anyone done anything good with them? As I only have 2, I was wondering if they would make a good SE tube (though I was going to do a 6C33 SE amp next).

Should I just put them on eBay for the radio amateur lot?

Thanks

Nick

I have never heard of these before, but after looking up the data, they have a set of curves for "Hi Mu triode connection". Here you connect G1 to G2 and use it for the control grid. In this mode it looks like a really pumped up 811A, which makes a good audio amplifier in A2 operation. These tubes would likely do well in a A2 SE amp, but that requires a really good driver circuit. They will also need a lot of plate voltage, maybe 600 to 1000 volts. Since there are no obvious circuits for this, you are forging into uncharted teritory. If you are new to this hobby, I would try a different tube first, at least the 6C33 doesn't need a lot of voltage.

If you decide to put them on Ebay, let us know here. I am crazy enough to try this (as if I don't have enough projects already), but I don't watch Ebay very often.

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
7094 in SE A1:
300V G2 will do
500V 200mA 2.5K
700V 140mA 5K
1000V 100mA 10K
All can be trimmed for about 40W output.