6922 Tubes - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st August 2001, 06:05 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

I am looking into replacing my Sovteck 6922 (3 of them) on my Kora Eclipse pream (www.kora.net). I was told that I will get "better" results if I used other tubes. I am new to the tube world (I am an end-user only). Can anyone suggest cost effective alternatives? I know that one gets what one pays for but I am not in the position to buy $250+ each for Amperex NOS. I notice that Tesla is quite affordable.

Also, where is a good reliabe souce(s) to purchase tubes in USA?

Thanks for your advice.
Old 2nd September 2001, 05:37 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Unless you find them yourself in an abandoned warehouse, don't believe any claims that tubes are NOS.
The Sovtek tubes are good, reliable, and available. There may be other brands out there that sound better--you'll *always* be able to find someone that champions some brand of tube or another, just as there are people who would perish rather than use Motorola, IRF, or whatever--but I've not heard any consistent reports that favor one brand of 6922 over another.
Don't get sucked into putting in a 6NP1 (I think I've got that right) unless you intend to diddle the bias a bit. They are *not* equivalent to the 6922. If you do make the change, take notes on the circuit as it is now--you may want to go back to 6922/6DJ8s later.

Grey
Old 31st August 2002, 03:52 PM   #3
diyAudio Senior Member

Hello Grey,Techno,

Grey:

You're right.I think you meant 6N1P though which is not an equivalent of the 6N23P-EB/6922 which I find excellent technically.

Techno,