Mullard EL34-Authenticity Verification - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th October 2005, 02:54 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Mullard EL34-Authenticity Verification

I am a newbie and a tube teller tries to convince me to buy a pair of Mullard EL34 as shown as the pic. Are they real Mullard EL34?
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 2005101223142198585.jpeg (90.1 KB, 335 views)
Old 14th October 2005, 04:46 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

if there's a hole in the locator pin in the center of the bottom
of the tube then it's a Mullard. I see a hole in the right tube.
check the left tube for the hole.

Bob
Old 14th October 2005, 05:52 AM   #3
EC8010 is offline EC8010  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally posted by CaliforniaBob
if there's a hole in the locator pin in the center of the bottom of the tube then it's a Mullard. I see a hole in the right tube. check the left tube for the hole.
Trouble is, it's not beyond the wit of forgers to drill a hole...

The printing seems rather smaller than usual. It's certainly different to my only remaining Mullard EL34.
Old 14th October 2005, 08:15 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to martinab2 Send a message via MSN to martinab2 Send a message via Yahoo to martinab2
Printing size and font looks unusual if these are 'real'. Any clues from the boxes?
Old 14th October 2005, 02:29 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

I believe Mullard (yesteryear) took the trouble to print a code date of manuf on the tube. it's quite low down and pretty small.