• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

More Questions about A.Wrights PP1C

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

as stated in an earlier post, I decided to build a slightly modified version of the PP1C amplifier as my first tube DIY project.

Now, a few more questions ocurred:

1. In http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?postid=712674#post712674
A. Wright writes the following: "But if you are making one I'd suggest going up in voltage to a 420V B+ and having +380 on the front end."

Let me guess, its not enough to just raise the B+ rail to 420V... What else has to be tweaked? Resistor values? Sorry if this questions might be a bit stupid, but I am still a tube newbie :D ...

2. How can I estimate the total current the amplifier will draw from the PS?

3. Due to my design idea to do the project completely without SS devices, I will have to replace the Mosfet CCS by a tube based CCS. Any suggestions for that? Is it possible to run the CCS circuit from the same B+ rail as the amplifier or will I have to add another PS with separate secondary winding / rectifier / filter?

4. What about the heater supply for the CCS? Is it possible to connect the CCS tube filaments to the amplifier tube filaments (as seen in the circuit, the filament winding is lifted to a somewhat higher potential)?

5. I'd like to use a EM800 display tube for each channel to monitor the output signal visually. May I run these circuits from the amplifier B+ or do I need another PS? Any idea for a simple, tube based circuit to drive the EM800s?

So many questions, I hope you can answer some or all of them :)

Greetings from Germany...

Andreas

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2004