• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

300B like 845

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
300B SEs are in some ways very nice, eg to my ears perfect for choral pieces; but I’m mostly a rock listener.

I don’t want distortion or sand, I want to build a tube amp with three priorities:
Great dynamics in drumming and other transients, effortless power and just a little richness.

I recently heard this muscular sound in a commercial 845 SE (using I believe custom Stevens & Billington trannies), but it’s outside my price range.
I’m new to DIY so 1200 volts is not a good idea now; and even if it were, the parts cost of a good 845 (or 211) is high!

What gave the 845 an effortless powerful sound, is it:
- just the higher watts (but it’s only about double ie 3 dB over a 300B),
- the higher volts – I doubt it,
- the ratio of amp power to speaker sensitivity (an 18 watt amp driving 90 db speakers) – I don’t think so
- something about the tubes (Shuguang 845Bs) – possibly
- generous power supply capacitance - maybe
- good OPTs - quite possibly

Some of the above plus others – probably – but which to focus on and do?

So I thought, when driving 98 dB speakers (G ribbons and PHL 3451s), it should be possible to do a 300B SE at a lower cost than an 845, that still has an effortless powerful sound. More ballsy and kicking with some smoothness than angelic. Maybe 33-50% lower cost, maximum say roughly US$ 750.

Ultra wide bandwidth not needed (using subs below 100 Hz, and I can’t hear over 14 kHz). This should make it easier to get dynamics.

Suggestions please:

- Which 300B tubes and parts, esp OPTs? Maybe James or Bartolucci.
- What circuit?