• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Help the Idiot: Simple, Great-Sounding Integrated Amp Designs

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Folks:

I'm a complete novice at this, but I would like to try my hand at building an integrated tube amp. I can solder just fine but have no experience reading schematics -- as a result, I'd optimally like to find either an amp design that included some simple instructions or a PCB (which I can stuff). Kits are welcome, but I'm happy to source the parts myself so long as a parts list is supplied. Sound quality is very important.

I am planning on building this amp in a chassis that has already been purchased for me. It's about 16 wide *12 deep *4 high, so whatever you suggest has to fit inside or on top.

Your recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Scott

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
alejo,

Thank you for pointing SRMcGee in that direction. It's amazing that so many persons are unaware of how deadly this stuff can be.

SRMcGee,
If you decide to go that route than be sure and take pics of the progress and post them here for us to see. Even if it's a kit. Remember, there is only one first time.

Best of luck,
Cal

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
alejo said:
What Speaker you think use for this amp?

Something big and ugly like these:

Attachments

• img_3678.jpg
    img_3678.jpg
    66.7 KB · Views: 408
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Guys: