Tube surround sound - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th September 2005, 06:29 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default tube suround sound

Hi, I am new to the audio tube world, I started out with guitar amps and found out that there are still people who use tube amps for audio systems, wow! Since then I have been working out a way to make my own tube audio system and I began to wonder is there a way to make a tube surround sound system using tube mono blocks to power the channels?
Is there a surround sound processor out there that I can do this with? And is it possible to do this without spending $ 18,000? I am looking at spending $ 300 - 400 per component and DIY-ing as much as possible (tube amp kits and speaker kits ) I have been looking at the Arizona tube amp kits and using high efficiency speakers. I’m one of those people who sees no reason for more than 50 watts per channel anything over that is overkill. Also I am in a small apt. so more than 50 watts might get me kicked out. Any direction in this would be greatly appreciated.
Old 14th September 2005, 07:34 AM   #2
beamnet is offline beamnet  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to beamnet
Is it only for surround? Or for stereo hifi too?

I'm not that familiar with surround, but my guess is that it doesn't need the extreme hifi quality stereo needs.

So a pair of nice el84 or even ecl86 amps for rear, a pair of beefy beam tetrode or penthode amps for front and a triode amp for center looks like a good idea, for as far as i've understood, the center speaker makes the "hifi" sound , the front do the volume pumping and the rear are only for effects.