• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Morgan Jones's Bevois Valley amp...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Morgan Jones' Bevois Valley amp...

Hi,

I was considering building this amp as my first PP project. Anything I should be aware of (gotchas?), and any recommendations for component suppliers in the UK/Europe would be appreciated. I know a few, e.g. Jan Wüsten & Sowter, but I'm a bit new to valves, and would appreciate any pointers...

Thanks

Nicko
Nick de Smith Electronics homepage

Hi Nicko,

since you are from the UK, Sowter would be a very obvious and surely excellent choice for the OPTs.

Other makers of OPTs in Europe you can consider:

Lundahl (Sweden) - www.lundahl.se
Reinhöfer (Germany) - www.roehrentechnik.de
Automatic Electric Europe (Netherlands) - don´t remember
VVT Transformers (UK) - www.vvttramsformers.co.uk
Welter (Germany) - www.welter-electronic.de

And probably lots of others :)

Tom

In Jones’ book he says he bought a pair of mono tube amps from a junk store in Bevois Valley for 15 pounds. These became the basis for his new prototype amps (I assumed he reused the transformers and chassis or something similar). The resultant design subsequently became known as the Bevois Valley amp.

I did my EE degree at Southampton. ISTR Bevois (pronounced "beavers") Valley was a very cheap residential area popular with students. Rumour had it (though I wouldn't know!) that nominative determinism had played its part and that part of the "red light" area was there too...:rolleyes: