Its Alive!! First Diy Amp Works!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th September 2005, 01:47 PM   #1
mr mojo is offline mr mojo  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Its Alive!! First Diy Amp Works!!

Well, before I get to the good stuff I would like to give a very big tip of the hat to PRR without whom this amp would not be working.

Before I get started a brief overview of how I got here:

About 6 years ago I came across an old "Rolling Stone" article about building a 10 grand stereo system for less than 2. The amp suggested was a Scott 299C. Since I was a college student at the time I had neither the time or money to pursue such a project, but I wanted to.

Got my first job out of college 3 years ago and after working for a year decided it was time to tackle a Scott 299C. At the time my knowledge of electronics started and stopped with the "on" button.

With a lot of help from some patient folks at audiokarma, I got that Scott up and running, and boy was I hooked!

Next came a 299B restoration for a friend. Then a mint 296 came up for sale on ebay less than 4 hours from me. About mid-way through that restoration I thought, boy this is getting to be a pain in the ***.

Wouldn't it be nice to not take something out, clean the pins, just to put a new part in, all the while fighting all the other parts already there?