• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

DIY tube amp squeals when turned up

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just built a Real McTube preamp for my guitar:
www.dogstar.dantimax.dk/tubestuf/mctube.htm

and it worked great! It's my first tube project (I'm a real tube newbie), so I'm very happy.

Never able to leave good enough alone though, I decided to modify it, substituting components based on a Tweed Fender Princeton 5F2A schematic:
http://www.kbapps.com/audio/schematics/tubeamps/fender/princeton5f2a.html

My changes can be summarized as follows:
- replaced C5 (input coupling cap) with 68k grid resistor
- replaced R5 and C7 (1st stage cathode resistor/bypass cap) with a 1k5 resistor and 22uf cap
- replaced R7 and C8 (2nd stage cathode resistor/bypass cap) with a 1k5 resistor
- replaced R4 and R6 (1st and 2nd stage plate resistors) with 120k resistors (ran out of 100k's)
- replaced RV1 (gain control) with the Princeton's gain/tone stack (2 1M pots, and 2 caps)

Everything else remains the same - the only other difference is that I'm running it with 300ma transformers, so I get about 110V at the plates (vs. the 140 of the original McTube design, or 150 of the original Princeton).

Everything sounds great until I turn the gain and/or the tone control past 9 -- then it starts squealing! With the gain up to about 8.5, it sounds clean and sparkly, between 8.5-9, it starts to get a dirty, and at 9, it immediately (and very abruptly) gets really distorted and starts squealing uncontrollably.

I did some research and came up with the following theories:
- grid resistor isn't close enough to the tube socket?
- plate resistor value is off? (try 100k's)