• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

SMPS for 300B heater ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thank you

I saw that, but I didnot want to go RF (too complicated for me) and I do not want to add another transformer in my amp for "regular" dc.
I bought these SMPS for a only a few euros so it would be handy if they could be used for the 300B heaters. Just curious if someone has tried this before and what were his experiences with it.

I have never used smps for tube heaters although I have some experience of their use in transistor audio applications. The main issue is that you will be dealing with RF frequencies whether you want to or not! Most switch mode supplies operate at frequencies well above audio range and throw out quite a lot of noise.
The thread I linked to covers many of the issues involved
Probably nothing to lose by giving it a go but I'm not sure about the logic of introducing a source of rf noise to an audio amplifier when most designers are trying to do the opposite!
Also, have you tried using plain old ac heater supplies first? I've found them to work rather well in most applications especially with the use of a hum balancing pot.

What do you mean by "quite a lot of noise"?

Ok, so a rather vague description but the problem is usually the nature rather than amplitude. Most smps are very quiet at audio frequencies but produce rf noise over a wide bandwith (presumably harmonics of the switching frequency) - visible on a good scope. The other issue is radiation from components within the power supply and cabling.