Is the KEL-84 a good Starting Point? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th September 2002, 01:17 PM   #1
Rarkov is offline Rarkov  England
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Rarkov Send a message via Skype™ to Rarkov
Question Is the KEL-84 a good Starting Point?

Hi,
I am looking into building the KEL-84 Integrated Stereo Valve Amp by World Audio Designs. Take a look here.

It looks good to me - but then I've never even heard a valve amp before...not even on a guitar!

There are two features I like the look of...

* Fail safe construction (Although I am very competent at electronics - I have a degree in it - I don't fancy being shocked with ~600V!)

* Cheap! At least for a valve amp anyway!

There is one other point...I couldn't find a single other kit available in the UK! If anyone has any comments or suggestions, I'm keen to hear them!

Thanks,
Gaz
Old 18th September 2002, 03:08 PM   #2
diyAudio Senior Member

Default KIT

Hello Rarkov,

I don't know from the top of my head of any others in the UK apart from Maplin Electronics.
As I know most of the people at Hi-Fi World I can only give you my vote of confidence about them.
Their designs are nothing extraordinary but very good value for money.
If you don't have power hungry speakers (88dB/m approx.) and their not way below 4Ohm impedancewise I would give it a go and get some spare ECF80's while you're at it.
I can't tell for sure if these are still in production,you can still mail Nick at Hi-Fi World for that.

Regards,
Old 18th September 2002, 10:33 PM   #3
dice45 is offline dice45  Germany
diyAudio Member

Rarkov,