• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

fisher x100a

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a fisher x100a amp which i got from an old repair shop, i would like to restore it (i am not going to be buying audiophool crap), apparently there is a problem with the plate transformer, i cant seem to find a schematic, and im a newbie to this sort of stuff.

pix etc.

That sorta outlines my problem.

Any ideas would be great!

Thanks,

draget

draget said:
I have a fisher x100a amp which i got from an old repair shop, i would like to restore it (i am not going to be buying audiophool ****), apparently there is a problem with the plate transformer, i cant seem to find a schematic, and im a newbie to this sort of stuff.
Do you mean power transformer?.
I have a schenatic, but it's too big to post. PM me with your email addy and I'll send it out tomorrow.

If your power trans is bung, then you'll need to get it rewound, replace it with something similar (and in this case you can get rid of the poxy doubler circuit) or remove the output transformers and ship them to me.

PS: I can't get your link to load.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi draget,
Have a look at the filter caps and rectifiers before installing your rebuilt power xformer. If you have a selenium rectifier, it should be replaced by silicon diode(s) and a resistor to give the correct voltages again. Grid coupling caps on the outputs could cause excessive current too.
-Chris

hum, the schems show different output valves to what i have got, and several other differences.