• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

My first tube amp design...check it out.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First of all, I am a newbie to vaccume tube design. My grandpa used to be into radio tinkering and he gave me an old RCA repairman's box full of mostly television replacement tubes and a few transformers. So this is an effort to make something useful from the parts I already have on hand.

I put together this circuit by following the Vaccume Tube Primer at boozhoundlabs.com, which was very nicely written by the way (if jason is on this forum). So please fire away at the schematic. I'm open to suggestions for or against NFB, bypass caps, or just about anything else. Thanks.

-Jared

Attachments

• tubeschem.jpg
    tubeschem.jpg
    65.2 KB · Views: 496
Let's see... first you know that 6L6 is a bad tube to strap in triode mode. You'll get about 1 watt. And 8k is a bit too much for plate load. And 240k is a bit too much, I would put 150k here instead, because you'll have plenty of gain with the input tube, and going high on the grid resistor will make your amp oscillate...

I would substitute the 6L6 with another tube if you got something in your junkbox :D

Where did this circuit come from? Have you designed it yourself?

Giaime,
Yes, I designed this circuit myself.

Is a trioded 6L6 bad for sound or bad for power? I have efficient speakers and a small room, so I think I can live with low power.