• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

PP OPT Core dimension

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
:) hi there

I'm tryin to desing a PPOPT for a 6bq5 triode strapped PP. this is my first time n i found a problem with core dimension. Let me explain the steps i followed:

input data are: primary load plate to plate is Raa=10K, internal resistance of the tube is rp=1.5k, expected Pout=4Wrms, minimum operating frequency is fmin=20Hz, and quiescient current is Ibias=60mA.

1)Transformer ratio k= sqrt(Zp/Zs) = 40.8

2)Minimum required inductance (Radiotron rule) L > 2*Req/2*pi*fmin =27H

max laekage inductance Llm < Rb/4*pi*fmax =32mH

3) Core area: i choose grain oriented lamination because even if it had a max allowed B similar to that of the normal silicon steel, relative permeability shows higher values and this helps to keep high value of inductance, following the formula: (is it right???)

L = (3.2 * N^2 * mu * A)/(10^8*lm)

then i found the following rule of thumb:

A=900*sqrt(Pout/fmin)*sqrt(14000/Bmax) or

A=20*sqrt(2*Pout/fmin) or

A=10*sqrt(Pout/fmin) or

A=sqrt(250*Pout/fmin) ...

Here's the question: i need formulas that invoke other parameters like primary turns etc... does anyone know the exact formula???:confused:

As a mean value i take approx 1sqin

4) Primary turns N1: radiotron says

N1 = E * 10^8 / (4,44 * fmin * Bmax *A)

where E = sqrt(Pout * Raa) = 200V

so take Bmax e.g. 10000 Gauss = 10000 * 6.25 =62500 lines/sq-in that gives:

N1 = 200 * 10^8 / (4,44 * 20 * 62500 * 1) = 4000 turns

Comments about it?
:apathic:

exact formula?

Ciao Silurato, I'm pleased to meet You also in diyaudio.