• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

B+ problem?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've built an amp but when I fired it up the heater voltages were spot on:5v rectifier(5Z3),2.5v 2A3,6.3v 6sl7.B+ on the other hand is 200v down.I measured the voltage on the tranny 380-0-380 no problem.Same going into rectifier.Measured opt connection to B+.It reads 215v and the HT wiring to rectifier is hot enough to melt solder.Any suggestions as I'm a newbie and lost????????
Its the Morrison Micro circuit I'm building.

SY said:
OK, let's take it step by step. What is the B+ supposed to be and how much current is the circuit supposed to draw?

If you've got a link to the schematic, that will help us walk you through the process.

Here's the diagram

Attachments

• morrison micro.jpg
    morrison micro.jpg
    89 KB · Views: 331
OK, without going through the circuit in detail, one can see that the total draw from B+ will be on the order of 50mA (it might be 40, it might be 80, but we're just approximating). OK, so that means, as far as the power suply is concerened, the load looks like whatever resistance it takes to conduct 50mA (0.05A) at 400V. Pull Ohm's Law out of our mental toolbox: the equivalent resistance is voltage divided by current. So R = V/I = 400/0.050 = 8,000 ohms. So an 8,000 ohm resistor will load down the supply properly (nearest standard values are 8.2K or 7.5K).