• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

My first design. PSE 211 to review.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

It is my first time here. I recently got interested in tube amps and decided to study the subject. After a bit I designed my fisrt amplifier. I would like to submit it for scrutiny here to try to learn a bit more.

I will be happy to receive all comments regarding operating points, values of the elements, design concerns, etc.

My goals were to have a tube amp with only 2 stages, single ended, low distortion and more than 10 Watts. I settled for a parallel single ended 211 output stage driven by a 417A.

For those interested and willing to help develop this a bit further, I attach a PDF with the schematic and some details, an another PDF with the list of parts.

Thanks to all,

Radames

PS: Comments are wellcome here or by e-mail.

PSII: I don't really know how to calculate a value for R1.

Attachments

• my_first_amp_pse_211.pdf
    34.7 KB · Views: 639

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Why do you need R1 at all? If the step-attenuator NEVER loses contact, you don't. This is an imperfect world, and it is wise to have something to hold the grid down when the drive loses contact. The tube spec will usually give a maximum resistance, usually 1Meg for small tubes.

You don't "need" center-taps on heater windings. Use two 100 ohm resistors and ground the center, or a 100 ohm 2-Watt (wire-wound) pot and trim for lowest hum. (If you have to trim off-center, your heater wiring isn't as tight and neat as it could be.)