Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th February 2005, 12:18 PM   #1
MlinarS is offline MlinarS  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Newbie needs clarification

Hi to all,
As you know from my previous post I'm new to this hoby of ours. This is my first try on design. I choose to start with SE. The 300B as output and mu topology in a driver stage.

I have read few books and some articles on the WEB about SE design with 300B. I have also seen so many designs with plate voltage of 425V. That's vhat make me confused.
I do understand that with increase in plate voltage one can get more PO, but operating 300B at this voltage is very close to the cutoff region that practicaly there is very small voltage sving on the negativa side of cycle. Also, in those same designs people are using OPT with primary impedance of 2K5 to 3k0. This makes a load line very steep. This all makes me wander if the goal is to operate walve in most linear region with biger voltage sving (les power at output) or is the power more important than voltage sving.
One more question, what determines impedance of the primary of the OPT (how do you choose impedance). Does any parametar of the walve dictates choice of impedance and if thet's the case, how? I think this have something to do with output impedance of the stage but I'm not certain about this.

Please help me start on the right track. My goal is to build this amp but more importantly to learn from ground up.

Thank you.

P.S. English is not my mother tonque so please bear with me.
Old 8th February 2005, 12:39 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator