Would an s5 K-12M kit suffice? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th January 2005, 12:39 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Would an s5 K-12M kit suffice?

I'm a noob to diy audio, I built my first Gainclone a few months ago and a pair of speakers using the WR125s. I want to build a tube amp, and have done a TON of searching. I've read a lot of you all's suggestions, and the K-12M seems like it might be the best for my budget. I'm willing to spend about $250, and I think thats about how much I'll end up spending after the modification

The Wr125s are only 85.6db efficient. Will the 8 watts be enough? I know very little about tubes, and have only listened to them a few times. A friend of mine's dad is a guitar player and has a recording studio and he loves tubes, he says he likes it better when the tubes are hot, is this true with music listening, and not just guitar? Would the amp have to run hot to power the speakers at normal listening level, or maybe a little above normal listening volume? I'm 17, and am about 10 feet away from my speakers when listening and sometimes like to turn up the volume a little high.

Do you all think this is a good kit for me?
I'm willing to MAYBE take up to $300 but I would prefer not to.

Thanks,

Josh
Old 18th January 2005, 01:05 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I talked to timn8tter about the project, whom also built one, he said it would be a great project for me and recomended me doing the mods. Although he did not comment on the WR125s.

Can anyone tell me if the K-12M will be a sufficient power source for the WR125s.

Thanks,

Josh
Old 18th January 2005, 03:24 AM   #3
diyAudio Member