• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Would an s5 K-12M kit suffice?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a noob to diy audio, I built my first Gainclone a few months ago and a pair of speakers using the WR125s. I want to build a tube amp, and have done a TON of searching. I've read a lot of you all's suggestions, and the K-12M seems like it might be the best for my budget. I'm willing to spend about $250, and I think thats about how much I'll end up spending after the modification

The Wr125s are only 85.6db efficient. Will the 8 watts be enough? I know very little about tubes, and have only listened to them a few times. A friend of mine's dad is a guitar player and has a recording studio and he loves tubes, he says he likes it better when the tubes are hot, is this true with music listening, and not just guitar? Would the amp have to run hot to power the speakers at normal listening level, or maybe a little above normal listening volume? I'm 17, and am about 10 feet away from my speakers when listening and sometimes like to turn up the volume a little high.

Do you all think this is a good kit for me?
I'm willing to MAYBE take up to $300 but I would prefer not to.

Thanks,

Josh

gmilitano,

Timn8ter told me about your site, I read it earlier today actually.