• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Shopping list

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi
I am below a novice when it comes time for building or designing a tube amp. However I am a perfectionalist when it comes to listening to music. I made the fatal error of listening to a tube amp and now I must own one. I was researching on the web and made my second fatal error of stumbling on this site. Now I must build one.
I have been reading posts, following links, reviewing safety for quite some time now and still a bit intimidated.
I am very handy with a soldering iron and tools. I have no electronic experience other than trial and error. I am very safety concience ( was Expolsive Disposal in Military )
So I need help and don't know how far everyone is willing to carry a new comer like me.
I MUST build an amp I no longer desire to buy one already done.
I have about $1000.00 ( hidden from wife) to spend.
I would like to have at least 25 watts per channel
I need to know how sweet of a sounding amp can I build for that amount. What would be my shopping list. and last but not least a design.
If I am off base for asking for so much when I have so little experience just tell me. But I need for my first to be a beauty.
Thanks Steve

Welcome to the addiction!

For $1000 you should be able to make a very nice amp. But there are an incredible number of designs and it is easy to get lost in the specs and details. So first you need to clearly lay out your requirements.

* Do you want to build from scratch or from a kit?
* Do you want a separate preamp and power amp?
* If so do you want a stereo power amp or monoblocs?