I'd like to make a simple 50 amplifier - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th January 2005, 04:02 AM   #1
arnoldc is offline arnoldc  Philippines
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to arnoldc
Default I'd like to make a simple 50 amplifier

I was fortunate to be gifted a pair of globe 50s last christmas.

Now I want to make a simple 50 amp using these tubes, and am aware of the 10K grid resistor issue.

What if I use a 417A with plate choke, cap coupled to the 50 with grid choke?

Will the 417A have enough grunt to drive the 50?

If this will work, how do you compute for the driver parameters when using a plate choke?

I'm no designer so pardon my ignorance. But I can use TubeCAD
Old 6th January 2005, 09:55 AM   #2
Previously: Kuei Yang Wang

Default Re: I'd like to make a simple 50 amplifier

Konnichiwa,

Quote:
Originally posted by arnoldc
Now I want to make a simple 50 amp using these tubes, and am aware of the 10K grid resistor issue.

Sounds fine. I used very much the same scheme when driving a 300B operated rather a lot like a 50 (350V/60mA), main difference was I used a 437A as Driver, at 170V/12mA, not a 417A.

Quote:
Yes, you will have to operate the valve quite hard, but it will. Use around 2.5V Bias, 170V Anode or around 220R Cathode resistor and 170V on the Anode. Adjust the +B dropper/decoupling resistor to get the anode voltage right. Under those conditions the 417A should be able to swing around 200V Peak-Peak, enough to drive 300B or 50 well past clipping.

Quote:
If this will work, how do you compute for the driver parameters when using a plate choke?