2A3 power supply transformer - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th November 2004, 08:42 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 2A3 power supply transformer

I am making a simple 2A3 amp and it is my very first tube amp. In making it, I bought a good price tube power transformer from asia with the spec of primary @110V and secondary @ 380VAC. Because the US is running at @120V, therefore, the new secondary output became 418V, instead of 380V for 2A3's design.

Since I am new in tube, can I use the 2A3 working under 418VAC (before rectifier 5U4GB)? Should I need to modify anything to accomondate the higher voltage?

Thanks,

Thomas
Old 11th November 2004, 11:07 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default should be fine

The difference in transformer secondary voltage between this one and the one you describe is not very significant. If you are trying to get everything perfect, then maybe you should be concerned but in reality you could change a few values and arrive at the correct voltages with no trouble. It is a lot easier to reduce voltage than make it up...sorta like making something shorter is much easier than making it longer!

Please realize that all voltages will change slightly using this transformer vs the one called for.

Besides that, the voltage supplied to your house is not exactly 120v all the time and everyplace.

Yes, you will need to check calculated voltages to determine if you have any problems but I'll bet you are probably ok.

Can you analyze circuits, voltages, drops, etc?
Old 12th November 2004, 01:24 AM   #3
arnoldc is offline arnoldc  Philippines
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to arnoldc