• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

chokes and power supplies

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to the tube amp world. Currently, I am having a pair of tube amps built for me right now by a couple of great gentleman in Washington state. I am NOT technically advanced so what I did was propose ideas I read on various sites and periodicals to see if they were technically feasible. I do not know what the values of the components being used are (i.e. tranformer impedances, etc) but I will give you a brief rundown of the circuit design - it is an approimately 80 watt class A amplifier using 8 EL34 tubes in a push-pull parallel design running in triode mode per monoblock. The input stage uses 2 EC99 tubes per monoblock. The amplifiers are a 2-stage design. There are also interstage and phase splitter transformers along with separate power and filament transformers for each stage along with, of course, the output transformers. The power supplies are solid-state rectified with choke filtering. I have three questions that I hope you guys can answer for me.
First, I have read some stuff on plate-load chokes and grid chokes but I am not sure where they apply in an amplifier design - i.e. input, driver and/or output tubes. My guys are using pi-filters right now. I would like to know how if these chokes could apply to my design, and if they could, whnere in the design.