An intriguing 6S45P direct coupled 300B amplifier - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th October 2004, 07:31 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default An intriguing 6S45P direct coulpled 300B amplifier

I’d like to submit and discuss the schematic of an integrated amplifier (direct connected to a CD-player … without pre).

We (no-profit association – Agorà) would like to realize this project together with the child that take part to the “Corso di Elettronica” (electronic course, promoted by our association).

Since I’m not an expert in Electronic, I’d be very grateful if somebody could help us in this adventure.

Points to be defined:

Current setting of 6S45P and bias of 300B:
1) 15-20 mA …with “combined” anode load (H + R; i.e. H=50H/400DCR+ R=3.000 ohm).
2) 35 mA … with “pure” choke anode load (i.e. 170H/2000DCR).

6S45P-Bias:
1) vacuum tube diode on the cathode (which one?).
2) battery on the cathode.
3) RC on the cathode.
4) RC on the cathode (with R being a potentiometer … in order to match the two 6S45P).

Input transformer:
1) Sowther 3575 in configuration 1:1
2) Sowther 8920 in configuration 1:1 having the two secondary in parallel.
3) Sowther 8920 in configuration 1:2 … with a less power input-driver tube (i.e. ECC99).

Power supply:
1) L2 and L4 --> 30H/100mA/190DCR
2) V ?
3) C1=160 uF, C3=80 uF, C5=1 uF
Attached Images
File Type: gif schematic-1.gif (44.4 KB, 2619 views)
Old 13th October 2004, 07:52 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default ...and these are the "experts" !

Attached Images
File Type: jpg allegato 1.jpg (88.6 KB, 2037 views)
Old 13th October 2004, 07:53 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Nice looking project!

Quote: