• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6L6 vs EL34

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2004
Hi
I was designing an amp with 6L6.But a friend of mine stopped me
:whazzat:
and ask me why I'm going with 6L6 and not with EL34.
:xeye:
He believes that EL34 sounds better than 6L6 and that I can achieve the same power.
But........
As a newbie I'd like to ask some other people opinion.
What do you say? :(

I pretty much agree with SY, but it depends on what you're trying to do. In Class A triode, my preference is for the EL34, but I've built a couple of very nice 6L6 variants. In AB and/or terode/pentode the choice is less clear cut for me, but if you're not bothered by topcaps, there are a bazillion great old 807's out there that can be had really cheap. I like the look of the ST bottle too....

In the end, it depends on the circuit and implementation.

Depends on how adventurous you are and your willingness to chase NOS. In the NOS category, the "super" 6BG6s that have been around at attractive prices are a great choice. They like to see 6600 ohm plate-plate. 6JN6 and similar medium-power sweep tubes are also bargains that perform extremely well with the right circuit. EL38s can still be found. EL37s are spectacular, but fairly unobtainable. I'd look at paralleled EL84s, and (if they're actually reliable and meet spec) 7591s.

If I were doing a new commercial design today, I'd be using EL509s.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi resident,
There is nothing wrong with 6L6's or their variants. I own amplifiers using 6L6's, 7591's, EL34's and 6BQ5's. I'm sure I have others too. I'd worry more about the iron and the layout.