• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

solid state Vs Tube Rectification

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I've build couple of Tube Preamp (one with 12AX7 and another with 6SN7)...with good results. In both these projects, i've only used solid state rectification with Chokes smoothen those curves..

I've never tried tube/valve based power supply before. Currently i'm thinking of trying out a power supply with tube recitification (5U4G). Before spending more money...i was wondering if the forum members would provide feedback on thier experience....what would be the impact on the sonic qualities.

Also, please recommend some good tubes for the rectification circuit.....got one 5U4G (NOS NEC, Made in Japan).

Cheers
Sandy.

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2004
If you use a tube rectifier, the results should be:

- lower noise (unless you're using Schottky diodes);

- slow turn-on, which will be kinder to the tubes in your preamp;

- higher impedance, which will give a lower output voltage.

The high impedance of a tube rectifier can cause "sag" with a variable load, such as a class AB1 amp, but not with a class A preamp.

If you change to a tube rectifier, I think you'd be better off with an indirectly-heated one, such as EZ81 (6.3v heater) or 5V4 (5v heater), because of the slower turn-on of about 15-20 secs. Your directly-heated 5U4 will deliver full voltage in only a couple of secs.